Cactusdan's blog

My Experience Using RSS

I've been using RSS for over a year to manage the things I like to read. I was inspired to do so after reading Nicky Case's page on the subject, which I highly recommend. As someone who doesn't use traditional social media, instead getting my information and entertainment from many disparate websites, RSS is a lifesaving tool. Previously I would literally check every site I wanted to stay updated on daily. It wasted a lot of time. RSS fixes that by giving me updates when there's new content available, so I don't have to check anything manually.

If you're thinking of using RSS, be careful to note that you use it differently than traditional social media. With social media, you can follow any number of accounts you are interested in, and a curated feed will be developed based on those follows and how they relate to your interests. RSS gives you every single update from your feeds in order. For this reason you can't just add every feed you find interesting. The most important factor to consider is the feed's frequency.

Frequency is how often a feed updates. You want to have fewer feeds with high frequencies. For example, I only have one feed that updates daily, about 5 that update multiple times per week, and many many more that update less frequently than that. Those range from once per week to once per year. In my experience you can have as many feeds as you want that update less than once per week. I used to be subscribed to a few webcomics that updated daily but it quickly became a chore to keep up, so I removed those from my list. Just as Nicky says in her post, you have to trim your collection to keep it manageable.

I used to use the Feedbro Firefox extension. Honestly it was very good, and the only thing that made me switch to something else was that it keeps your feeds local, so I couldn't sync my read posts between devices. I eventually switched to Feedly, using the Feedly Notifier extension. It's been nice having my feeds synced up, and I enjoy that feedly's website lets you disable its recommendation features, allowing for a clean experience on the website. The downside to Feedly is that free plans are limited to 100 feeds (although I don't see myself needing that many.) I've also heard good things about Inoreader, which allows 150 feeds for free, but I haven't personally used it.